Quality for Software Products

Quality Concept for Boss Info AG

Since 1998, Boss Info AG has developed from a start-up to a mature company and market leader for complete IT solutions - from industry software and associated ICT to service and support. Our customers benefit from our profound technical and business know-how, the experience gained from hundreds of successfully implemented projects and from our proximity to our customers.
The quality of our products plays a central role for us. To ensure this quality in the long term, we must not only develop agilely, but also test agilely. In doing so, we must not lose sight of the customer's needs and our ideas of good quality. A quality concept should lay the foundation for us to do this.

Alessandro Sebaste accompanied our team in the development of the quality concept. Our requirements were clear: The concept should prepare our processes for the challenges of Continuous Delivery and allow us to make adjustments on an ongoing basis. In addition, we were looking for a healthy proximity to practice within Boss Info AG right from the start.

The software products of Boss Info AG are set up in a wide variety of programming languages. We develop individual solutions for companies, but also offer standard products. The quality concept should therefore be as generic as possible and yet specific enough to ensure successful implementation in the various teams, technologies and languages.

Over a period of just under four months, Alessandro conducted various workshops with us in which the topics of the concept were elaborated. Parallel to the workshops, we evaluated the software for test management and converted the first projects that were about to kick off to the new quality concept. At the same time, we introduced Azure DevOps. Therefore, first parts of the quality concept were implemented before the final release by the workshop groups.
Alessandro played a supporting role in the development of our test understanding. This allowed us to test new terms, procedures and aspects of testing directly in practice.
After the release of the quality concept, we analyzed our current processes for assuring quality using the process reference model TMMi. Subsequently, we defined the goals for a first implementation phase. In doing so, Alessandro took into account the capabilities of the teams and the projects and kept the big picture in mind.

Used norms and standards:

  • ISO 29119 (standard for test documentation).
  • ISO 25010 (standard for software quality criteria)
  • Recommendations of the International Software Testing Qualification Board (ISTQB)
  • TMMi (Test Maturity Model integration)

The new quality concept precisely reflects the requirements and ideas of Boss Info AG.
It now serves as the basis for further implementation. Of course, the concept is only the first stage of a longer development. But it shows which processes and resources are necessary for further work.
Just like the quality requirements for software products, the concept is not static, but is to be continuously reviewed, adapted and supplemented.

The cooperation with Alessandro is constructive and goal-oriented.
With his experience and expertise, he has worked out the basics with us in a short time and will now accompany us on the way ahead.

Simon Boss
Founder and Chairman of the Board of Boss Info AG

Quality for Software Products

Qualitätskonzept für die Boss Info AG

Seit 1998 hat sich die Boss Info AG vom Start-up zum gestandenen Unternehmen und Marktführer für komplette IT-Lösungen entwickelt – von Branchensoftwares über dazu gehörender ICT bis zum Service und Support. Unsere Kunden profitieren vom fundierten technischen und betriebswirtschaftlichen Know-how, der Erfahrung aus Hunderten erfolgreich umgesetzter Projekte und von unserer Nähe zu den Kunden.
Die Qualität unserer Produkte spielt für uns eine zentrale Rolle. Um diese Qualität langfristig zu sichern, müssen wir nicht nur agil entwickeln, sondern auch agil testen. Dabei dürfen wir die Bedürfnisse des Kunden und unsere Vorstellungen von guter Qualität nicht aus den Augen verlieren. Ein Qualitätskonzept sollte uns das Fundament dafür legen.

Alessandro Sebaste hat unser Team bei der Entwicklung des Qualitätskonzepts begleitet. Unsere Anforderungen waren klar: Das Konzept sollte unsere Prozesse auf die Herausforderungen von Continuous Delivery vorbereiten und es ermöglichen, laufend Anpassungen vorzunehmen. Zudem suchten wir von Anfang an eine gesunde Nähe zur Praxis innerhalb der Boss Info AG.

Die Softwareprodukte der Boss Info AG werden in verschiedensten Programmiersprachen aufgesetzt. Wir entwickeln individuelle Lösungen für Firmen, haben aber auch Standardprodukte im Angebot. Das Qualitätskonzept sollte also möglichst generisch und dennoch so konkret sein, dass die Umsetzung in den unterschiedlichen Teams, Technologien und Sprachen gelingt.

Im Zeitraum von knapp vier Monaten führte Alessandro mit uns diverse Workshops, in denen die Themengebiete des Konzepts bearbeitet wurden. Parallel zu den Workshops evaluierten wir die Software für das Testmanagement und stellten erste Projekte, die kurz vor dem Kick-Off standen, auf das neue Qualitätskonzept um. Zur selben Zeit führten wir Azure DevOps ein. Deshalb wurden erste Teile des Qualitätskonzeptes noch vor der definitiven Freigabe durch die Workshopgruppen implementiert.
Alessandro wirkte bei der Entwicklung unseres Testverständnisses unterstützend mit. Dies erlaubte es uns neue Begriffe, Vorgehensweisen und Aspekte des Testens direkt in der Praxis zu erproben.
Nach der Freigabe des Qualitätskonzepts analysierten wir unsere aktuellen Prozesse zur Sicherung der Qualität anhand des Prozessreferenzmodells TMMi. Anschliessend definierten wir die Ziele für eine erste Umsetzungsphase. Dabei nahm Alessandro Rücksicht auf die Möglichkeiten der Teams und der Projekte und behielt das Grosse Ganze im Auge.

Verwendete Normen und Standards:

  • ISO 29119 (Norm für Testdokumentation)
  • ISO 25010 (Norm für Qualitätskriterien von Software)
  • Empfehlungen des International Software Testing Qualification Board (ISTQB)
  • TMMi (Test Maturity Model integration)

Das neue Qualitätskonzept bildet die Anforderungen und Vorstellungen der Boss Info AG präzise ab.
Es dient nun als Basis für die weitere Umsetzung. Klar ist das Konzept erst die erste Stufe einer längeren Entwicklung. Aber es zeigt, welche Prozesse und Ressourcen für die weitere Arbeit nötig sind.
Genauso wie die Qualitätsanforderungen an Softwareprodukte ist das Konzept nicht statisch, sondern soll laufend überprüft, angepasst und ergänzt werden.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit Alessandro ist konstruktiv und zielorientiert.
Mit seiner Erfahrung und seinem Fachwissen hat er mit uns in kurzer Zeit die Grundlagen erarbeitet und wird uns nun auf dem weiteren Weg begleiten.

Simon Boss
Gründer und VR-Präsident der Boss Info AG